Skip To Main Content

English Language Proficiency Assessment for California ELPAC

What is the ELPAC?

Designated State and federal law require that school districts administer a state test of English language proficiency to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve. The California Department of Education (CDE) has transitioned from CELDT to the ELPAC as the state English language proficiency assessment. The ELPAC is aligned to the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It is comprised of two separate assessments: one for initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to measure student progress in learning English and to identify students' level of English language proficiency.

You can view ELPAC practice tests here.


Reclassification is the process whereby an English Learner is reclassified as a Fluent English Proficient (RFEP) student after meeting various linguistic and academic criteria set by the state and district. The Azusa Unified School District has developed student reclassification policy and procedures based on criteria set forth by California Department of Education (CDE) guidelines. In general, students initially identified as English Learners (ELs) are reclassified as Fluent English Proficient when they meet the following criteria:

  1. Overall English proficiency level of 4 on the California English Learner Proficiency Assessment California (ELPAC) (CELDT);
  2. Demonstration of “basic skills” in English from an objective assessment that is also given to English proficient students of the same age
  3. Teacher Evaluation; and
  4. Parent Notification.